nagi_schwarz: (Default)
[personal profile] nagi_schwarz
So...much insanity as ensued. On Sunday we were a bunch of sinners and went to see corpse bride. Well, we were going to go to the one o'clock showing but ended up going to the four o'clock showing instead. We went to get food and ended up sitting outside the dorms talking to Nick and poring through the newspaper and making bad jokes about burning the Big Bad B to death. Too many references to fire and lighers and death in general. I don't really remember how I spent Sunday night now that I think about it. I do remember going to bed at a respectable time so I could get up on Monday. We did end up sparring in the parking lot like a bunch of morons to 'guard' Del's parking spot while she took Marty and Rowsdower home. It was crazy fun. I tried to teach everyone some of the basics, but ended up slipping on the gravel (so should've paid more attention to battle terrain) and spilling huge when sparring against Erin. It was fun sparring and there was a moment when we were all chanting "girl fight, girl fight!" after Del got back. I ended up biffing Josh in the eye by mistake, but we all had our own good fun.

Monday was fun enough. Me, Josh and Del tried to help Erin shoot action shots for her photo class that involved us sparring. Needless to say, Nagi and indoors and low ceilings don't mix with a shinai but I managed not to smash any overhead lights. I do think the girls on my floor are a little more nervous of us now, but I don't mind. I took a fantastically pathetic smash to the right forearm when I got distracted. As for how I was distracted - it was Murphy's law coming to kick me in the ass, I'm sure. One of the girls - the tall blond one with the short hair - had just opened her door and afforded me a view of Nick at the exact moment as he was stripping off his shirt outside. Needless to say, I dropped out of fighting mode to gawk and got hit for it. I can understand why Josh was proud of the wound to his eye - he earned it in a fight. I was less proud of the wound on my arm because it was obtained through incompetence.

See, there's a whole philosophy behind war wounds. If you earn one in a good hard fight and the other guy was better than you and there was no way you could've avoided that killer hit, then hey, it's a glorious battle scar and you are the man. I'm proud of the wounds I earn against a better fighter. I can even be proud of the wounds I earn against a lesser swordsman when he pulls of a spectacular move. I am not, however, proud of wounds earned for incompetence. Those aren't badges of courage, those are marks of shame. I think the wound on my arm is a point of double the shame.

Tuesday classes went all right. We ended up running down to Wal Mart after lunch - well, Josh went to the game stop and I went to walmart to get more money on my phone card so I can call people. I was running low on minutes, you know? We ended up retreating back to my place to hang out, then going to dinner, then running into Nick on the way back and hiding in my room to play some Tekken before we did any homework. We watched House, and it's always a great show. I couldn't find the Law & Order SVU like I wanted, although in retrospect it was probably on at nine and I forgot that part. Sigh. I'm dorky enough to enjoy L&O for its criminal justice aspects. Between The Exorcism of Emily Rose and that season premier of L&O I have GOT to ask one of my CJ profs about the 'time served' sentence. That's going to bug me for a long time.

We studied some, then we girls went all nuts and ended up watching some sixth season buffy, in particular the musical episode and then the tabula rasa episode. Afterwards people departed so it was just me and Seirra in the end. We played card games and commiserated about being lonely. I was over the loneliness but now it seems it has come back to haunt me. Funny how that works. I stayed up as late as I could reading Oedipus Rex before giving up and going back to sleep.

Today Rodney actually showed up for American lit, and it really didn't go well for anyone. I did, however, manage to work the 'magnificent pouf' line from Angel into the discussion to entertain my classmates, but Rodney and Del were the only ones who got it. Rodney followed me back to the dorms and we talked until Continental Lit, which was awesome. We're studying Oedipus rex, and after going through some of the history professor Aton played us this radio drama modern version of Oedipus. The cast goes like this:

Oedipus the King: Jack Nicholson
Creon: George H. W. Bush
Tiresias: Ross Perot
Jocasta: Edith Bunker
Messenger: Mr. Rogers
Shepherd: Henry Kissinger

It was friggin hilarious, and I laughed so hard my sides hurt. This is proof that English majors can take their subject less than seriously and have a good sense of humour about it all.

At lunch Jon Huntsman, our governor, was giving a talk in the living room. Del had to watch it for one of her psych classes and said there were some cute secret service agent kinda guys, so we went to check it out. I didn't think any of them were cute, but I did think that it would have been criminally easy to kill our governor. It wouldn't be easy to not get caught, I suppose, but it was a little too easy to do. Del gave up listening when the man said something about 'Pakistan is that country next to China'. I just laughed.

Advanced Critical Methods is, as always, thought-provoking, and we got into issues beyond Gender afterwards. We actually stuck around to talk about it, which shows just how nerdy we are, but it was fun. I attempted to hunt down Fitz but once again failed, at which point I retreated to my room and here I am now. I played some old hula tunes and bemoaned at the number of dances I can no longer do from memory, and then Marty and Josh came by to shoot the breeze. Josh took off to do homework, Marty took off for 'hero lessons,' something that still mystifies me, and Seirra stopped by before heading off to work.

I still haven't made any progress whatsoever on the murder mystery. I wrote a short story over the summer that had no end, and I haven't made any progress on its end. I did write a short story yesterday, though. Since I'd gone to bed early on Monday night as well I was up early because my muse kicked me out of my dreams (which I seem to be unable to remember lately) to tell me to write. I showered, then hurried back to my laptop to type. I managed to get a load done before heading off to class, and after lunch I hurried back to finish it off. I think it turned out all right. BenTen was kind enough to read it and point out some transitional problems. It's in the same sort of abstract style as the other short story but the verisimilitude and veneer of reality is closer to that of the murder mystery with some random Schwarz references filled in.

It's really cold up here now, all of a sudden. I should stop this nonsense and do something productive.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Date: 2005-09-28 11:09 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Nonsense? Productivity? Your nonsense is always productive, my darling.

Profile

nagi_schwarz: (Default)
nagi_schwarz

October 2019

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
2021 2223242526
27282930 31  

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags