nagi_schwarz: (Default)
[personal profile] nagi_schwarz
Is not the same thing as coming home. I thought that perhaps it was a bit in advance that they had the dance before the game, which we probably won't win because our sports team are that bad. No offense to the football players out there, but really. Of course, I never did have much interest in sports to begin with, so that's not saying much.

I made it through another week of school. I really am coming to enjoy my advanced critical methods class almost in the same way I enjoyed my philosophy class, because it forces me to think and learn knew things and really get into a subject. It's by far the hardest class, not because it has the most work attached to it (that would be American Lit I), but because it's very theoretical, and no matter how hard we try some things just cannot be brought into the concrete without us doing some practical application. I loved philosophy because it was abstract, pure thought, pure logic, and so much of this critical theory - because it's more of a philosophy of literature than anything and draws heavily on western metaphysics (though it often tries not to) - is just as pure in the ways of thought. That's why I like to go out late at night and sit at Aristotle's feet and think. Sometimes I'll listen to music, other times I'll just listen to the loud silence that is after dark and ponder. It's really mind-cleansing, I'll tell you that. American Lit is quickly becoming vastly intolerable and Rodney, Rowsdower and Matthew are not the only ones expressing a dislike for the workload, so we're going to try to work up a sizeable group of protesters and go from there, perhaps.

On Friday night we four girls went to homecoming. Me, Erin, Del and Seirra. Took a bit of conning because Seirra had just gotten off work and has to move to a different room sometime today, but we all went. Del and I wore simple black dresses, and I had left my hair braided for two days so I took it out and it was all wavy. Erin has a nice simple blue dress that she wore, and Seirra wore her "obnoxiously pink" (her own words) prom dress. It was all retro style, a "vintage homecoming," and they had this awesome live band that did all kinds of swing and jazz and big band with some disco thrown in for good measure. Okay, for all that there was a fifties dress theme going on there was no fifties music, for which I was a bit disappointed, and it's a bit hard to swing without a boy, but we girls had fun. I did the hula-hoop contest and almost won, but it was all fun. The hoops had no weight to them, though, so it was rather difficult to keep them going with any sort of velocity or control. It was fun all the same. I was rather surprised when the Japanese kids showed up en masse, though the boys didn't dance often, and when they did, they didn't dance with the girls, just sort of clustered together dancing with each other. Yuuichi from the cafeteria cleans up pretty nice. I was more than surprised to see Daisuke show up in a suit and dance. He's a skinny little geeky kid but he was totally enthusiastic about the whole dancing thing. The other Yuuichi, who lives on Josh's old floor, and Tomo, whom I had chemistry with fall semester of my sophomore year, showed up single, and I was tempted to ask Yuuichi to dance a couple of times - he's not much taller than me - but they kept disappearing. Eventually we found the two of them sitting at our table, although they couldn't have known it was our table, and we asked them if they were having fun. They bemoaned that they didn't have dance partners so we invited them to dance with us. Neither of them could swing or latin, but we had fun all the same. The two of them had the same weird notion as the last batch of Japanese boys I danced with, that they had to learn to dance, and they kept trying to dance like me and once again it really wasn't working, but they were both pretty cool about it. I had to teach Yuuichi how to slow dance, and he seemed sort of embarrassed when the other Japanese boys began heckling him from the sidelines (apparently Japanese boys don't dance with girls) but he was cool about it and managed not to step on my feet. The attempt to teach him to waltz didn't go all that well, but hey, it was fun. I told him and Tomo to go to more dances alone and they'd find girls alone like us and they could learn to dance some more.

Del saw Casanova there with a date, and was very sad. She didn't dance much, but she doesn't really like to dance and spent most of her time hanging out with her majors friends and helping out with the competitions and whatnot. She really wants a boyfriend. I feel sort of bad, like I was insensitive, because I'm really not that lonely anymore. Alone and lonely are two different things; I hope we've established that all right. I would have thought that at a dance where one really needs a boy I would have felt more lonely than ever but I felt great. I do love to dance, and in college people seem more likely to dance. Those who don't dance don't feel much of a social obligation to put in an appearance.

Because I'm over Nick, now, I really am. No need for the zen stuff. I think he has a girlfriend, and while there was a momentary spike of green jealousy (I wouldn't be human if I hadn't felt it) it sort of made me come to my senses. It would never work. Not even something casual. And I'm cool with not having a guy. A few weeks of loneliness and I'm back to not looking. I still understand how Del feels about being lonely (and I'm sorry if I was an insensitive jerk about it) but I'm weird and alone and content again.

After the dance we thought about going up to Old Main to go ghost-hunting (anything to avoid the evil true T-bird tradition of all weird random kissing) but instead went to the Centrum to visit the geniuses and take weird pictures with their statues. We got honked at several time during the walk because we hadn't changed out of our nice dresses, and poor Erin got an earful of cursing after the second batch of guys honked at us. I was tempted to waste a perfectly good throwing knife on one of them. Jerks. We also avoided getting hit by water balloons, but that's okay.

I'm chilling and going to do some homework before the game tonight. I have so far managed to avoid letting the Big Bad B find out about the game. He was at the dance last night with a woman who had to be at least thirty. Maybe it was his ROTC girlfriend, although I thought they broke up. We're going to have to talk Josh into not going to the VtM game tonight so he'll go to the homecoming football game with a girl instead, because gamer boys should go out with girls when they can because it's true - girls are few and far between for gamer boys (unless they're mad charmers like Rodney).

Rodney was hanging around the dance last night, and it would have been awesome if he'd gone to the dance itself because apparently he can swing really well, but he was waiting for the dance to get over so he could clean as he's a night janitor. Del ran up to him and half-glomped him, and he looked disgruntled in an attempt to not look pleased at the greeting. I think he's sweet on her and it would be awesome if it would work between them. I think it could, but if neither of them want it then...ehhhh.

Mom came up to visit on Thursday and tried on the dress again. Wow. It really is gorgeous. I feel so pretty in it! I'm going to have a lot of fun with it, I know that. And she's put so much time and effort into it. I love my mom because she's a genius like that.

Okay, homework, I'll do it, Brad.

Just put the gun away.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Date: 2005-09-25 12:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kawaranai.livejournal.com
Well I guess it was a good thing that I didn't come after all, sounds like you had a great time.

I know exactly how you feel, Alone but not Lonely.

Maybe another time.

love ya,
Sector 10 weapons.

Date: 2005-09-25 05:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] delacoeur.livejournal.com
Me likey the new layout and colors. I don't think it conflicts with your icons.

And don't worry about leaving me alone in my loneliness. I'm glad you're okay again. Me? I'm used to being lonely. :)
M.

Profile

nagi_schwarz: (Default)
nagi_schwarz

October 2019

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
2021 2223242526
27282930 31  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags