nagi_schwarz: (Default)
[personal profile] nagi_schwarz
I made the title long because it's a very momentous occasion, when a gamer receives her first set of dice. I think it's slightly sentimental because we're girls, but it's a rite of passage, man, when you get your own dice. It means that you're a full-fledged independent player - you don't have to ask one of your neighbours what to roll every time you reach out to borrow their dice. And your luck improves because you're not playing with contaminated dice. Delacoeur and I headed over to the game store at about a quarter to twelve, but the place didn't open till one, so we agreed to go together in the evening.

It's three weeks into the first semester, and I think that French is seriously going to put one of us into a coma one day. Doesn't help that half of us are ill, you know? Having a sinus headache and trying to debate on whether or not money is necessary for happiness - all in French - is not conducive to leading on consciousness is a load of students who've all heard it before anyway. Anyone who's lived in or just been to a third world country knows that money definitely doesn't bring happiness, and maybe that happiness is ignorant, but I don't think it lessens the sentiment any.

But no more political ranting - I'm not Milton and this isn't Lycidas.

Congratulations to Delacoeur for not only earning her first set of dice but being a true trooper and getting her arse whipped at air hockey by BenTen (a rite many of the Shi Shi D & Co have endured) and playing Pump it Up for the very first time - and out in public, too! I can say that my first experience with dance games were at least at a private residence where no one had to endure my ungainliness.

See, I don't really see it as true corruption when it comes to Delacoeur, she's one of us at heart, but she never had the chance to do a lot of this stuff in high school, so now we're just here seeing her through all of the odd rites of passage and habits that make a gamer a gamer. Now she has to play some Tekken and some DDR and I think we've got it made.

But it was fun. Been a while since I've been publicly moronic in an arcade like that. And if Mills doesn't believe me, it's true, and completely possible for someone to be an extrovert and still suffer from a serious inferiority complex - after all, the extroversion just hides le manque de confiance en soi, right?

It was a good night. When three girls can talk about gaming and sono tsuki no kirei and dancing skyclad and a whole load of stuff and feel at ease, you know something good is happening.

I managed to get a decent amount of studying done, and took a well-deserved nap (haunted by Mad Maestro, of course) and life is good.

Love ya, Mom!

Corrupted and loving it

Date: 2005-01-25 07:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] delacoeur.livejournal.com
Thanks! I feel so very celebrated and loved, and that is the best feeling in the world. So do I get I nickname, too?
That was fun. We're going to have to do it again sometime, when I've had a chance to practice. I learn slowly, but I learn well! Maybe that's why I always get the French the day after the test...

Profile

nagi_schwarz: (Default)
nagi_schwarz

October 2019

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
2021 2223242526
27282930 31  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags