nagi_schwarz: (Default)
[personal profile] nagi_schwarz
and yet, I think, also a successful one. I was pretty sure I would kick Carlo into the ground on oral argument. Then he, too, showed up in a suit, delivered his speech well, and fielded Judge Knoepfler's questions beautifully. Clearly, my precognition powers don't work in law school. What did I do after my defeat? I asked Carlo to be my partner for moot court in the fall. I think we'd seriously rock. We can learn from each other. I took a (very minor) defeat and turned it into what will hopefully be a success. It really didn't matter who won or lost - what mattered was that we both got our grade and won't have to pull a redo in front of Dickhute. And Professor K said she was very proud of us, that we'll both make good lawyers.

I'm starting to rethink the litigation track.

Only sort of.

Today Professor Mellili held the meeting for Witness Examination in the fall. He handed out the paperwork - and I am now in possession of what was once a small tree - and explained how it's going to be. It's true, we're learning very limited skills as far as witness examination goes, but we're learning the specifics of the hard things so we can apply what we know to the simpler things. Prof. Mellili used to be a federal prosecutor, and I hear a good one at that, so he knows his litigation skills. It made me pretty excited - we're working with a civil case and a criminal case - a murder. So, even though I'm worn out and burned out, I'm ready for all this. I'm excited for this lit class (a whole new type of "lit") in the fall.

I'm tired, though. I spent all evening finishing my Con Law outline. Now that oral argument is done I can spend the rest of my time finishing up my other outlines and prepping for Civ Pro on Monday.

Gack - school is almost over.

I'm scared.

But I can do this.

HP

Meep

Date: 2008-04-16 03:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kawaranai.livejournal.com
meep is exactly how I feel at the moment, though to a somewhat lesser degree than you are feeling it right now. I am about to go into my Aikido final.

A different lit class indeed. I think you will have fun even though it will push you to the edge. just do me a favor and don't kill anyone until I can get back to hide the body for you. :)

Profile

nagi_schwarz: (Default)
nagi_schwarz

October 2019

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
2021 2223242526
27282930 31  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags